Connect with us

Sports Radio News

FSR Sets Weekend Lineup

Jason Barrett

Published

on

FOX Sports Radio (FSR) announced today its weekend lineup for the 2015 football season.  Beginning September 12 and 13, FSR will feature programming dedicated to both college and professional football, including game day previews, analysis and interviews, hosted by a diverse ensemble of sports entertainment personalities, analysts and former players.

Brady Quinn, former Notre Dame/NFL quarterback and FOX Sports analyst, and Jason McIntyre, editor-in-chief of USA Today’s The Big Lead, will join the network’s weekend lineup this season.  The Big Lead with Jason McIntyre will air Saturday mornings from 6-9 a.m. ET and feature McIntyre’s preview of the weekend in sports, as well as the biggest guests in sports media.  Quinn, a former first-round draft pick, will join FSR weekend personality Brian Noe as they provide their distinct takes on the weekend in football from 8-11 p.m. ET on Sundays.

In addition, FOX NFL Sunday, America’s No.1 NFL pregame show featuring hosts Terry Bradshaw, Howie Long, Jimmy Johnson, Michael Strahan and Curt Menefee, will return home to FSR on Sundays at 12:00 p.m. ET.  Leading into the program, FSR will add a simulcast of FOX NFL Kickoff on Sundays at 11:00 a.m. ET.  The new hour-long program will be hosted by Charissa Thompson and feature a dynamic cast including Colin Cowherd, who recently launched The Herd with Colin Cowherd on FS1, FSR and iHeartRadio.

“I couldn’t be more excited about FOX Sports Radio’s upcoming football season programming,” stated Scott Shapiro, Premiere Networks Vice President of Sports Programming.  “On the heels of Colin Cowherd joining our weekday lineup, the addition of Brady Quinn and Jason McIntyre to our already strong weekend roster will give football fans the coverage they are craving each and every week from the most informed and opinionated personalities in the industry.”

“I’m excited to talk X’s and O’s with Brian Noe on all the NFL games this season!” shared Quinn.  “I think fans will enjoy our in-depth look at the results of the game from the QB pocket.”

McIntyre stated, “I’m thrilled to be joining FOX Sports and Premiere Networks, and I’m excited to bring The Big Lead‘s ethos to a national radio audience.”

Below is FSR’s 2015 weekend football line-up:

Saturdays

2am-6am ET/11pm-3am PT             Jonas Knox

6am-9am ET/3am-6am PT               The Big Lead with Jason McIntyre

9am-12pm ET/6am-9am PT             Anthony Gargano & Lincoln Kennedy

12pm-4pm ET/9am-1pm PT             The Blitz with Ben Maller & Tomm Looney

4pm-8pm ET/1pm-5pm PT              FOX Football Saturday with Steve Hartman & Brady Poppinga

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT            Brian Noe & Mark Willard

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT           Arnie Spanier

Sundays

2am-6am ET/11pm-3am PT             Jonas Knox

6am-8am ET/3am-5am PT               Nick Ashooh

8am-11am ET/5am-8am PT             FOX Football Fantasy with Michael Harmon & Dan Beyer

11am-12pm ET/8am-9am PT           FOX NFL Kickoff Simulcast

12pm-1pm ET/9am-10am PT           FOX NFL Sunday Simulcast

1pm-5pm ET/10am-2pm PT             FOX Football Sunday with Mark Willard & Ryan Field

5pm-8pm ET/2pm-5pm PT              FOX Football Sunday with Mike Hill & Kirk Morrison

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT            Brian Noe & Brady Quinn

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT           Arnie Spanier & Chris Plank

Sports Radio News

16.9% of All Sports Radio Listeners Are Streaming

The news comes as Nielsen reported that 11.3% of all radio listenership comes thru a stream, up from 6.9% in May of 2020.

Published

on

Streaming Radio

According to Nielsen, sports radio stations are the third-most streamed spoken word format, just behind Talk/Personality and News/Talk/Info. The trend is continuing to show that streaming is on the uptick.

The survey found that in May 2022, 16.9% of sports talk radio’s audience tunes in via the station’s online stream. That news comes as Nielson reported that 11.3% of all radio listenership comes thru a stream, up from 6.9% in May of 2020.

Nielsen notes that in the 45 PPM markets they are grabbing data from and the 4,800+ stations that stream in those markets, just 30% of them are encoded. That encoding allows for Nielsen to accurately measure the streams. They used the listener data from 1,500 stations across the U.S., in their latest report, AM/FM Radio Streaming Growth in PPM Markets

The survey also showed that streaming levels differ widely by radio format. Spoken word formats display strong streaming listenership (Talk/Personality: 31.2%, News/Talk/Info: 19.1%, All Sports: 16.9%). In fact, Nielsen found that 1/3 of all AM/FM streaming in PPM markets is to spoken word formats.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

New Study Finds Listeners to MLB on Radio Are Willing to Spend

More than one third (34%) of the respondents recently purchased clothing/apparel that features their favorite team… 27% have visited a ballpark in the past year. That compares to only 19% of the average MLB fan base has made an apparel purchase to support their team while just 11% have gone to a game in person in that same time span.

Published

on

MLB Radio

When it comes to advertiser’s attempting to reach an affluent and engaged audience, sports talk radio might have a whale on their hands. Major League Baseball play-by-play features an audience that has money and has no problems spending it.

In a recent MRI-Simmons study, data shows that consumers who listen to MLB broadcasts on the radio are the perfect audience for sports marketers. According to the analysis, done by Katz Radio Group, nearly two thirds (62%) of those surveyed consider themselves “super fans” of baseball. That number is 58% higher than the average.

Radio Listeners to MLB

Those “super fans” are willing to spend to support their team, as well. More than one third (34%) of the respondents recently purchased clothing/apparel that features their favorite team. Those fans are also far more willing to make the trip to see their team. The study found that 27% have visited a ballpark in the past year. That compares to only 19% of the average MLB fan base has made an apparel purchase to support their team while just 11% have gone to a game in person in that same time span.

The news continues getting better for advertisers. Continued analysis reveals that 66% of listeners are currently employed and have a median household income greater than $106,000.

Listeners to MLB games on the radio are also 34% more likely to place a sports bet and 106% more likely to be a participant in fantasy baseball.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Jeff Dean Signs Off At ESPN Tucson for The Final Time

Dean said on Facebook: “…the years of burning the candle at both ends has taken a dire toll on my health and for the first time in my life, I’m going to put myself and my livelihood first”

Published

on

Jeff Dean Show

Fans will no longer be able to tune into ESPN Tucson and hear Jeff Dean hosting his show. Friday morning was his last show, according to his Facebook and Twitter pages.

The Jeff Dean Show had been airing from 7-9a MT weekday mornings. Dean took to social media to relay the news and the reason behind him stepping away from the microphone. Dean said on Facebook:

“This morning I signed off from my radio show on ESPN Tucson for the final time. I have been devoting too much of my life and my time to working multiple jobs…the years of burning the candle at both ends has taken a dire toll on my health and for the first time in my life, I’m going to put myself and my livelihood first”

Jeff Dean Facebook

Dean went on to emphasize that he isn’t stepping away from ESPN Tucson, he’s just taking himself off the air. He also added that “gladly, I will be continuing my position as PA announcer of University of Arizona Football and Men’s basketball.”

Dean would also go onto Twitter to add even further context for his self-removal from the ESPN Tucson airwaves. He added, “It’s not a decision I arrived at hastily, as it’s been a 6 month mental grind to make the ultimate decision that had to be made, and I’m not particularly happy about it, but I have to put my health first, we all do, and make sure we’re around long enough to enjoy life”.

Dean had been ESPN Tucson’s morning host since November 2019.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
Advertisement

Trending

Copyright © 2021 Barrett Media.