Connect with us

Sports Radio News

Fox Sports Radio Bolsters Its Weekend Lineup

Jason Barrett

Published

on

FOX Sports Radio announced today its weekend lineup for the 2016 Spring/Summer sports season. Beginning April 2nd and 3rd, FSR will welcome several new additions to its diverse ensemble of sports entertainment personalities, analysts and players providing around-the-clock weekend coverage, including game-day previews, analysis and interviews.

Joy Taylor, FS1 host and former morning drive personality at 790 AM The Ticket in South Florida, will join FSR’s Mark Willard on Saturdays from 1p-4p ET.  In addition, NBA All-Star and Slam Dunk Champion Cedric Ceballos will team up with FSR’s Brian Noe on Saturdays from 8p-11p ET, while FS1 NBA Analyst and 14-Year NBA veteran Jim Jackson joins Ryan Field on Sundays from 1p-4p ET.

“FOX Sports Radio cements its standing as the best place for sports talk radio with the addition of these three talented personalities,” stated Scott Shapiro, Premiere Networks Vice President of Sports Programming. “I couldn’t be more proud of the opinions, credibility and creativity that have been assembled in this weekend lineup. There is no better destination for timely and entertaining takes on the biggest stories in sports than FOX Sports Radio.”

Below is FSR’s 2016 weekend Spring/Summer lineup:

Saturdays

2am-6am ET/11pm-3am PT                      Jonas Knox

6am-9am ET/3am-6am PT                        The Big Lead with Jason McIntyre

9am-1pm ET/6am-10am PT                      Anthony Gargano & 3-Time Pro Bowler Lincoln Kennedy

1pm-4pm ET/10am-1pm PT                     Mark Willard & Joy Taylor

4pm-8pm ET/1pm-5pm PT                       Steve Hartman & Super Bowl Champion Brady Poppinga

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT                     Brian Noe & NBA All-Star/Slam Dunk Champion Cedric Ceballos

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT                   Arnie Spanier

Sundays

2am-6am ET/11pm-3am PT                      Jonas Knox

6am-9am ET/3am-6am PT                        Nick Ashooh

9am-1pm ET/6am-10am PT                      Michael Harmon & Dan Beyer

1pm-4pm ET/10am-1pm PT                     Ryan Field & 14-Year NBA veteran Jim Jackson

4pm-7pm ET/1pm-4pm PT                       Mike Hill & 8-Year NFL veteran Kirk Morrison

7pm-11pm ET/4pm-8pm PT                     Brian Noe & Mark Willard

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT                   Chris Plank & Arnie Spanier

For more information, visit www.FOXSportsRadio.com.

Sports Radio News

16.9% of All Sports Radio Listeners Are Streaming

The news comes as Nielsen reported that 11.3% of all radio listenership comes thru a stream, up from 6.9% in May of 2020.

Published

on

Streaming Radio

According to Nielsen, sports radio stations are the third-most streamed spoken word format, just behind Talk/Personality and News/Talk/Info. The trend is continuing to show that streaming is on the uptick.

The survey found that in May 2022, 16.9% of sports talk radio’s audience tunes in via the station’s online stream. That news comes as Nielson reported that 11.3% of all radio listenership comes thru a stream, up from 6.9% in May of 2020.

Nielsen notes that in the 45 PPM markets they are grabbing data from and the 4,800+ stations that stream in those markets, just 30% of them are encoded. That encoding allows for Nielsen to accurately measure the streams. They used the listener data from 1,500 stations across the U.S., in their latest report, AM/FM Radio Streaming Growth in PPM Markets

The survey also showed that streaming levels differ widely by radio format. Spoken word formats display strong streaming listenership (Talk/Personality: 31.2%, News/Talk/Info: 19.1%, All Sports: 16.9%). In fact, Nielsen found that 1/3 of all AM/FM streaming in PPM markets is to spoken word formats.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

New Study Finds Listeners to MLB on Radio Are Willing to Spend

More than one third (34%) of the respondents recently purchased clothing/apparel that features their favorite team… 27% have visited a ballpark in the past year. That compares to only 19% of the average MLB fan base has made an apparel purchase to support their team while just 11% have gone to a game in person in that same time span.

Published

on

MLB Radio

When it comes to advertiser’s attempting to reach an affluent and engaged audience, sports talk radio might have a whale on their hands. Major League Baseball play-by-play features an audience that has money and has no problems spending it.

In a recent MRI-Simmons study, data shows that consumers who listen to MLB broadcasts on the radio are the perfect audience for sports marketers. According to the analysis, done by Katz Radio Group, nearly two thirds (62%) of those surveyed consider themselves “super fans” of baseball. That number is 58% higher than the average.

Radio Listeners to MLB

Those “super fans” are willing to spend to support their team, as well. More than one third (34%) of the respondents recently purchased clothing/apparel that features their favorite team. Those fans are also far more willing to make the trip to see their team. The study found that 27% have visited a ballpark in the past year. That compares to only 19% of the average MLB fan base has made an apparel purchase to support their team while just 11% have gone to a game in person in that same time span.

The news continues getting better for advertisers. Continued analysis reveals that 66% of listeners are currently employed and have a median household income greater than $106,000.

Listeners to MLB games on the radio are also 34% more likely to place a sports bet and 106% more likely to be a participant in fantasy baseball.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Jeff Dean Signs Off At ESPN Tucson for The Final Time

Dean said on Facebook: “…the years of burning the candle at both ends has taken a dire toll on my health and for the first time in my life, I’m going to put myself and my livelihood first”

Published

on

Jeff Dean Show

Fans will no longer be able to tune into ESPN Tucson and hear Jeff Dean hosting his show. Friday morning was his last show, according to his Facebook and Twitter pages.

The Jeff Dean Show had been airing from 7-9a MT weekday mornings. Dean took to social media to relay the news and the reason behind him stepping away from the microphone. Dean said on Facebook:

“This morning I signed off from my radio show on ESPN Tucson for the final time. I have been devoting too much of my life and my time to working multiple jobs…the years of burning the candle at both ends has taken a dire toll on my health and for the first time in my life, I’m going to put myself and my livelihood first”

Jeff Dean Facebook

Dean went on to emphasize that he isn’t stepping away from ESPN Tucson, he’s just taking himself off the air. He also added that “gladly, I will be continuing my position as PA announcer of University of Arizona Football and Men’s basketball.”

Dean would also go onto Twitter to add even further context for his self-removal from the ESPN Tucson airwaves. He added, “It’s not a decision I arrived at hastily, as it’s been a 6 month mental grind to make the ultimate decision that had to be made, and I’m not particularly happy about it, but I have to put my health first, we all do, and make sure we’re around long enough to enjoy life”.

Dean had been ESPN Tucson’s morning host since November 2019.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
Advertisement

Trending

Copyright © 2021 Barrett Media.