Connect with us
blank

Sports Radio News

Fox Sports Radio Unveils Spring & Summer Lineups

blank

Published

on

Weekend duty at Fox Sports Radio tend to be a largely seasonal affair. That will be the case again in 2019, as the network unveils its roster of hosts for the spring and summer months.

Cuttino Mobley and Caron Butler will each join Jonas Knox for NBA coverage. Mobley will be Knox’s partner on Saturdays from 4-8 pm Eastern through the NBA Playoffs. Butler will take over the role after that and stay on board through the Draft and free agency period. After that time, Bucky Brooks returns to the show to cover NFL training camps.

Los Angeles Times columnist and Around the Horn contributor Bill Plaschke will join Mike Harmon on Sunday mornings, while FS1 college basketball analyst and Omaha radio host Nick Bahe will join Dan Beyer Sunday evenings. Outkick the Coverage contributor Jason Martin lands his own show as well. He will handle the Sunday overnight hours.

Here is FSR’s full weekend schedule through the end of the summer:

Saturdays:

2am-6 am ET/11pm-3am PT          The Jonas Knox Show

6am-10am ET/3am-7am PT           The Fellas with Anthony Gargano & Lincoln Kennedy

10am-1pmET/7am-10am PT          The Big Lead with Jason McIntyre  

1pm-4pm ET/10am-1pm PT           Steve Hartman & Rich Ohrnberger      

4pm-8pm ET/1pm-5pm PT             Jonas Knox & Cuttino Mobley/Caron Butler/Bucky Brooks 

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT           Brian Noe & Ephraim Salaam

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT         Arnie Spanier & Aaron Torres

Sundays:

2am-3am ET/11pm-12am PT         Straight Outta Vegas Weekend Edition w/ Bernie Fratto

3am-6am ET/12am-3am PT           The Jason Martin Show

6am-9am ET/3am-6am PT             Andy Furman & Brian Noe

9am-1pm ET/6am-10am PT           Mike Harmon & Bill Plaschke

1pm-5pm ET/10am-2pm PT           Steve Hartman & Dahntay Jones  

5pm-8pm ET/2pm-5pm PT             Dan Beyer & FS1’s Nick Bahe

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT           Jonas Knox & Brady Quinn  

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT         Arnie Spanier & Chris Plank

Sports Radio News

Jonathan Zaslow No Longer With WQAM

An attempt to reach out to Zaslow for comment went unanswered.

blank

Published

on

blank

WQAM midday host Jonathan Zaslow is no longer with WQAM in Miami.

The radio station has removed his show from the website and references to him and his normal 10a-2p ET midday timeslot program have been scrubbed from the station website.

Zaslow tweeted at 5:19p ET confirming the news.

Whether or not this has any effect on his involvement with the Miami Heat broadcasts is unknown as of now.

Barry Jackson, a veteran journalist with the Miami Herald, reports that 790 The Ticket morning hosts Brendan Tobin and Leroy Hoard will move to that 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. WQAM slot during the week of Oct. 3.

In more station movement, Joe Rose’s WQAM morning show with Zach Krantz now will be simulcast on The Ticket, replacing the Tobin/Hoard program. Audacy, which owns both WQAM and The Ticket, also simulcast Marc Hochman’s and Channing Crowder’s afternoon show.

Zaslow had been with 790 the Ticket since 2004. He was transitioned from Audacy-owned 790 to sister station AM 560 Sports WQAM last October. During his tenure he has worked with a number of established local voices including Joy Taylor, Amber Wilson, Brett Romberg, and Brendan Tobin amongst others.

WQAM has gone thru a number of changes, including a rebranding effort to call the station “560 The Joe”. That ended last year with the station returning to the AM 560 Sports WQAM brand listeners were more familiar with. What they have planned next in Zaslow’s timeslot is unclear but local listeners will likely get some answers next week.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Vanessa Richardson Named Houston Rockets Sideline Reporter, Paul Gallant to Host Solo on ESPN 97.5

Vanessa Richardson will be on the sidelines for the Houston Rockets and Paul Gallant will host solo show on ESPN 97.5.

blank

Published

on

Vanessa and Gallant

Changes are taking place in Houston sports media. First, the Houston Rockets will have a new television sideline reporter this season, and she’s a familiar name to Houston sports fans.

Vanessa Richardson, the now former co-host of ESPN 97.5’s Vanessa and Gallant, revealed that she will be on the sidelines for the NBA franchise covering the team for AT&T SportsNet Southwest.

She tweeted the news saying, “Elated to be the new Houston Rockets sideline reporter! I can’t wait to travel the country & share the stories of this dynamic team during 80+ games on AT&T SportsNet Southwest. I’ll continue to fill-in as a host/reporter for Astros broadcasts as well.”

Richardson’s co-host, Paul Gallant, tweeted that with Richardson leaving the show for the Rockets sideline gig, Vanessa and Gallant will become the Paul Gallant Show. The solo show led by Gallant begins Monday September 26th.

“We’re excited to have Paul host his own show”, said Todd Farquharson, General Manager of ESPN 97.5 & 92.5.  “He’s super creative, energetic, and likeable.  He’ll get the audience involved and have fun.”

Paul commented, “You know what I’ve always loved about sports talk radio?  That it’s interactive.  Whether through a phone call, text message, tweet or on Twitch, it’s the best place for sports fans to come together and celebrate…or vent.  And that’s what The Paul Gallant Show is going to be…Houston’s platform to talk about its teams. THE most interactive sports talk show in Houston.”

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Ken Carman: Al Michaels ‘Feels Untethered’ On Amazon Prime Video

“The thing that stuck out was Kirk Herbstreit ripping the elf,” said Carman. “Don’t be ripping Brownie the Elf, man.”

blank

Published

on

blank

The Cleveland Browns defeated the Pittsburgh Steelers during Thursday Night Football on Amazon Prime Video. 92.3 The Fan morning host Ken Carman applauded Al Michaels for his performance during the presentation.

“Al Michaels feels untethered for the first time. He’s not network television anymore and he can say whatever he wants. We interviewed him on the pregame show and I was nervous,” Carman said.

“He’s a legend,” co-host Anthony Lima added.

During the final play of the game, the Steelers fumbled a lateral into the endzone which the Browns recovered to make the final score 29-17. Michaels said “that may be meaningful to some of you. And you know who I mean”, alluding to people who had placed wagers on the game.

Carman, who hosts two-hours of pre-game coverage on the Browns Radio Network, continued to discuss how nervous he was interviewing Michaels. He also discussed how impressive Amazon’s behind-the-scenes production was, pointing out the only football broadcast with more cameras is the Super Bowl. More than 400 people work behind the scenes for Amazon Prime Video.

“The thing that stuck out was Kirk Herbstreit ripping the elf,” said Carman. “Don’t be ripping Brownie the Elf, man.”

Carman later said people angry that Michaels misspoke by saying the Pro Football Hall of Fame is “down I-71” instead of I-77 were unreasonable, and joked “Al Michaels hasn’t been on a highway in 20 years”.

Continue Reading
Advertisement blank
Advertisement blank

Barrett Media Writers

Copyright © 2021 Barrett Media.